Yemenity2010's Blog

Space the Place to Be According to This Year’s Academy Awards?

Posted in Blog Entry in English, Tema: Kultur by yemenity2010 on 02/03/2014

The race is on again. Tonight a number of awards will be handed out to people involved in the film industry. I really shouldn’t have, but still I couldn’t resist the temptation of predicting the outcome in the most talked-about categories. Even though I haven’t seen more than a few of the movies that really matter in this context. And the Big Big Winner, I presume, will be one that I wish I had seen, but for some reason I haven’t gotten around to it yet. However, it will be available on DVD in Sweden next week, according to usually reliable sources. More clues: It has a Mexican director, takes place in outer space (or at least outside the earth’s atmosphere) and stars an accomplished actress who once upon a time got her big breakthrough driving a bus at high speed to avoid being blown up by a bomb someone thought it prudent to place underneath said vehicle.

 

Other nominated films which I have seen and I hope will get some worthy attention are ”Captain Phillips” and ”12 Years a Slave” (which I have reviewed here). More details can be found at my more explicitly drama-dedicated forum Cast Against Hype.

 

 

 

Kommentera

